Something Exciting may await!!

I was going to put this in the “forced induction” page but I dont think anyone ever looks at it lol. OK here it goes…

Before I started working for ford I was a designer for an aftermarket engineering company that specialized in research and design of unorthadox power-adders (not to be confused with unorthadoxracing ™)
Well since I started working for ford I dont make enough money to afford a turbo system for my zx2 so I started playin around with some numbers.
The number one reason car manufacturers dont produce cars with a fully functional “ram-air” systems, or at least very few, is

1. There not practical, there isnt a fully functional system that can effectivly drain water, (the customer would have to plug it every time it rained or snowed) That doesnt change the fact that they are VERY effective in bringing volumetric effeciency up at speed from around 60% where most engines in stock form hover.

Last few days I have been playin around with displacement numbers for the ztec engine. Once I had the required CFM numbers for the usable rpm band I started crunching numbers for various “ram-air” intake system designs that would come close to meeting that cfm number and at what speed they would do so.
Heres the exciting part, the maximum required CFM to run our engines at 100% volumetric effeciency is so low due to the size of the engine that its more than possible to make a ram system that is capable of producing more than a 100% V.E. and do so with a relativly small scoop.

Now these are rough numbers, I havent actually built a proto-type yet, but with the intake system I designed, CFM requirement of our engines at 6,000 rpm will be met at 47 mph, (no wind) and exceeded at 55 mph,
basically pending testing I will soon be able to build a cheap intake for everyone that will boost the engine at speeds over 55 mph, making 3rd, 4th, and 5th gear a lot more fun.
Rough estimates so far are producing numbers of 110-115% ve, :wink: