Driving techniques and suspension 101 for n00bs

I got bored tonight and typed this up. I see a lot of people on car forums I visit expressing their interest in racing but honestly don’t understand the basics of suspension and braking…

I posted this in off topic because it isn’t JUST ZX2 related.

SO HERE WE GO!

Well, I figured I’d post a little something. so for those who think your car is great, learn to DRIVE it great. So lets go over a few rules to bring you to reality before we get into the actual techniques. I see people seemingly thinking they are god at autocross when they really can’t drive, bringing you to reality may help you learn to drive. I’m not saying i’m a perfect driver, but I respect my driving abilities and my car’s limits and the track i hit when i do autocross. I have 5 basic rules for beginners at autocross and rallycross.

Rule #1 - Your car has limits, life isn’t like the midnight club (that’s a video game…) and your car can’t take 20mph corners at 120mph like they appear to in the movies.

Seriously though, I have seen so many accidents in the newspaper locally of “Teenager wrecks such and such car after misjudging a corner at high speeds”. Learning the limits of your car is as simple as experimenting and not getting too cocky. Respect the fact that your car may be slow or fast. Live with it.

Rule #2 - The car does not make the driver, the driver brings the car to life. You can own a Pagani Zonda for all I care but it still won’t make you a good driver, learn to drive what you’ve got, even the people who have been running in stock divisions in autocross have been doing that for years. Many of them dominate their class with crappy cars not because the car has a secret but because the driver knows the car like the back of their hand.