Aftermarket Changer/Stock Head Unit (the opposite of another topic!)

Hey there, I’m new, but then I haven’t even got the ZX2 I want yet, so I’m new to this whole shebang I guess. I want to get an MP3-capable CD changer and run it through the stock head unit. I hate the way aftermarket units look, basically, although my current (and quite dead) car has one that I’ve made peace with. All of my music is on MP3 CD, and the car I’m getting does have premium audio so there’s a changer in there already. I was hoping it was possible to keep the stock unit’s controls for the new changer, just because that’d look the best.

I suppose lots of people here have replaced the old unit, but I’m hoping someone has tried to do what I’m thinking or at least knows if it’ll work.

I’m fairly certain that there is an adapter you can by to fit the connectors together. Check out Crutchfiled] they’ll be more likely to have the RIGHT answer for you. I would personally say, if you already have MP3 discs burnt, instead of buying a capable changer, just buy a capable head unit. With MP3 Discs you basically have a changer there. (10-20 albums). Although if you already have a capable changer, I can see the justification.

My suggestion though would be to just replace the head unit. The cost would probably end up being about the same anyway.

• Darron

The problem with replacing the head unit is my intense dislike of aftermarket head units, with their fiddly controls, overly distracting displays, and complete inability to look like they belong in the car. That’s just me, I guess, but I definately don’t want one.

Thanks for the Crutchfield suggestion though, I’ll check them out.

http://www.fuelempire.com/media/531_556_5723_sub.jpg

http://www.fuelempire.com/media/531_556_5724_sub.jpg