Engine feels very restricted - Any particular reason?

I’m relatively new to the ZX2. I made my first post in the General Discussion board: http://forum.zx2ms.com/index.php?topic=1727.0

After driving the ZX2 for a few days, I’ve noticed that the power curve is very strange. It seems to pull well until about 4500 or 5000 rpm, and then it just flat lines. Instead of continuing to pull well, it seems to just level off. Revolutions go up, all the way to redline, but it just doesn’t accelerate well until I shift to the next gear. This doesn’t seem right, because I use to drive a 2002 Focus ZTS with the 2.0L Zetec and a 5-speed, and that car pulled hard (well, as hard as a 130hp I4 will pull) all the way to redline. Is the ZX2 geared terribly? Is there some sort of serious restriction in the intake and/or exhaust? Or is there something wrong with mine? Thanks.

no it’s just tunning… pure and simple.

If you could get a video of inside the car, that would be awesome. I think it might something to do with your car, because my ATX Zx2 pulls hard after 3k all the way to 7k.

I’m just wondering…Does it flatline at 70mph? Because I know what it is if it does.

Video of inside the car? I don’t have a camera to get a video, but is there something in particular you’re looking for? I know my way around a car, and if there’s something you can tell me to look for, I’ll check. See, my brother has a 2002 ZX2 ATX, I’ve driven it once and thought it pulled all the way to redline, unlike my MTX.

I’ll take it for a spin this evening and see if it flat lines at 70. I can say that it flat lines at around 4500-5000 RPM in 1st, 2nd, and 3rd.

If in 1st, 2nd and 3rd then you might want to check MAF. Perhaps even a vaccum line.

:? Not sure about this one. :?