Do I take the Promotion or not?

Okay I have an issue that I have been dealing with over the last couple of days. I have been unable to decide how I want to do this so I decided to see what other people would do in my situation.

I think many of you know that I work with the Developmentally Disabled and Mentally Retarded. I have been working in this field for the past 3 years. Before I started working in this Field I honestly thought it was a job that I could not do. I have since proven myself wrong. I moved up from Direct Support Provider(DSP) position to Senior DSP within a year of being here. Even though there were people there that had been there longer then me. This past week I was offered to take the Position of Assistant House Manager and this is the source of the issue.

I have come to enjoy the individuals that I deal with. I deal with the same six people everyday as I work in what is called an IRA, Individualized Residential Alternative. As it sounds the six individuals I work with are independent adults, many twice my age with a mentally of someone less then half my age. This a great source of challenges that can be very stressful. The typical burnout rate in this field is high, meaning you get burnt out quick.

When I started we had a different administration structure. I know that all things change. I do not challenge the need for change within a business or even within ones personal life. I do question the methods behind such change, who is pushing for the change and other questions that need to be asked. I dont like doing things without an explanation, “the blind sheep” syndrome. The administration that is in place now is making changes that profoundly affect everyone under administration. The unfornuate part is that the individuals I oversight suffer through lack of services provided while we put these new requirements in place.